Course Web Page for Phys1061

Fall 2005

 

News for Phys 1061, Fall 2005

Thursday, December 22, 2005

The solutions and final grades are posted. Please have a happy and safe holiday, and a good start into the New Year.

 

 

Tuesday, December 20, 2005

The equation sheet for the final exam is posted.  Take some moment to familiarize yourself with it, it will make the exam more smooth for you.

 

Wednesday, December 14, 2005

The final exam will be on the 22nd of December (Thursday) at 8:30 am in our usual class room. If you need to meet me before that, please drop an e-mail. I will be usually on campus, but not necessarily in my office.

The instrument page has been updated. Thanks to all of you for a great semester.

 

Monday, December 12, 2005

Thanks to everybody who presented their instrument on Friday and today. The instrument page has been updated. Homework solutions are posted.

Please bring your instrument to class one more time on Wednesday.

 

Friday, December 09, 2005

Instrument page has been updated.

 

Wednesday, December 07, 2005

Today’s class sound samples are posted in the documents section.

Check out the instrument page. Thanks to Ben, Anthony, Brian and Joel!

 

Monday, December 05, 2005

Please visit our instrument page – there will be regular updates. Enjoy and be inspired.

Here is the presentation schedule.

A new learning check is posted for Wednesday. Various class documents have been posted. Please note the new homework problems for Friday.

 

Friday, December 02, 2005

Solutions for the test have been posted. On Monday, there will be a sign-up for times to bring your instruments to class. I will ask you also for consent to put your picture and a sound file of the instrument on the class page. Please be ready to make such a decision on Monday. Thanks.

 

Thursday, December 01, 2005

Today’s review session will start at 6:30 pm – I apologize for this delay.

 

Wednesday, November 30, 2005

The project paper will be due on Monday, December 5.

Class materials are posted.

Test review for test 3 will be held in Sci 2190 at 6pm on Thursday evening.

 

Monday, November 28, 2005

A Learning check for Wednesday is posted.

 

Tuesday, November 22, 2005

There are some recent class documents posted in the documents section.

 

Thursday, November 17, 2005

The solution for quiz 9 is posted.

 

Wednesday, November 16, 2005

A new learning check for Friday is posted. The one from today (11-16-05) went really well.

It is time to discuss the project!  Please sign up for a time, there is a sign-up sheet at my office door. If you sign up I will be there. You can take a look at the schedule here. I would like to meet each project group before Thanksgiving.

Sample problems and some guidance for test 3 are posted in the test section.

 

Tuesday, November 15, 2005

Three homework problems for Friday are posted.

 

Monday, November 14, 2005

A new learning check for Wednesday is posted.

 

Friday, November 11, 2005

Solutions for homework and quiz 8 are up. Please also check out the Documents section for a page on today’s worksheet.

 

Thursday, November 10, 2005

A learning check for tomorrow has been posted. Solutions for Monday’s homework are up.

 

Tuesday, November 08, 2005

Please meet at 9:15 am in the Recital Hall in HFA on Wednesday, November 9.

Solution for quiz 7 is posted. There will be a quiz in the second half of class tomorrow.

Homework for Friday, November 11, is posted.

Recent class materials are posted under Documents.

 

Monday, October 31, 2005

Today’s class documents, as well as a learning check for Wednesday are posted.

Please remember: There is no class meeting on Friday, November 4!

 

Friday, October 28, 2005

Take a look at your amazing observations at the wind turbine.

Homework problems for next week are posted.

 

Wednesday, October 26, 2005

Thank you to all our drivers, who made it possible that we could go out to the wind turbine this morning. Please complete the field trip guide until Friday.

There is a learning check posted for Friday.

 

Monday, October 24, 2005

Wednesday’s class will take place at the wind turbine. Please meet at 9:15 in the Science Building Parking lot. Bring warm clothes.

There is no class meeting on Friday, November 4, 2005. I will be at the 14th Conference on Current Trends in Computational Chemistry in Jackson, MS.

 

Friday, October 21, 2005

The solutions for the test and the homework are posted.

 

Wednesday, October 19, 2005

Update on upcoming events:

  • Thursday, 6 pm, our class room:  review session for test
  • Friday, 9:15 am:  test 2
  • Wednesday, 9:15: field trip to the wind turbine. The weather is forecast to be not as moist and chilly by midweek next week. It also gives us time on Monday to prepare and discuss. I will hand out the field trip guide on Friday.

 

Tuesday, October 18, 2005

Solutions for last week’s homework have been posted. Some material for test preparation is posted, as well.

 

Friday, October 14, 2005

The homework for next Friday, today’s class documents and a page on Doppler effect have been posted. Please remember that the next test is scheduled for Friday of next week. Keep checking for sample tests.

 

Wednesday, October 12, 2005

Solution for Quiz 6 is posted. Remember that I will ask about partners and tentative plans for the project on October 19 (Oct 17 is fall break – so I guess I won’t ask you then). New learning check is posted.

 

Monday, October 10, 2005

Class materials of today are posted. Solutions for homework and new homework problems are posted, as well. You can take the learning check for Wednesday now.

 

Wednesday, October 05, 2005

Sound sample and PowerPoint is posted. Learning check for Friday is posted.

 

Monday, October 03, 2005

Today’s class documents are posted. The learning check for Wednesday is available.

 

Friday, September 30, 2005

It is time to think about the project! Please check out the guidelines.

Today’s class materials have been posted.

 

Thursday, September 29, 2005

Homework for next week has been posted. Problem 2 of tomorrow’s homework is a little ahead of class. You can keep it until next week, if you want.

 

Wednesday, September 28, 2005

The solution and some comments for today’s quiz are posted. There is also a snapshot of the Audioscope’s wave form for the tuning fork sound, with explanations of the graph under “documents”.

 

Monday, September 26, 2005

Test results are posted. The learning check for Wednesday is up.

 

Friday, September 23, 2005

Homework solutions and homework for next Friday are posted. There is a learning check for you, due Monday (instead of today’s). You can check the test solutions under “Tests”.

 

Thursday, September 22, 2005

The review session will be at 6 pm in our normal class room.

 

 

Wednesday, September 21, 2005

Today’s presentation is posted.

 

Monday, September 19, 2005:

Class problems and a practice sheet for problem solving have been posted. The new learning check is up.

 

Friday, September 16, 2005

Homework for next week is posted. Today’s class materials are posted in “documents”. Please prepare for the test next Friday – there are materials in the “Tests” section. The solutions for them have been published as well.

 

Wednesday, September 14, 2005

The next learning check and solution for quiz are posted. Today’s worksheet is in the “documents” section.

 

Monday, September 12, 2005

Class materials are posted. In the Tests section, you can find a sample test and other sample problems in preparation for Test 1. Please make good use of these. I will post the solutions by the end of this week. The learning check for Wednesday is posted.

 

Friday, September 09, 2005

New Homework is posted. Solutions for the homework and the quiz are posted.

 

Wednesday, September 07, 2005

Class materials for today are posted. Learning check for Friday is posted. I posted a summary of your answers to the little introductory survey.

 

Tuesday, September 06, 2005

There will be no quiz tomorrow since we had one only last class. A learning check for tomorrow is posted.

 

Friday, September 02, 2005

The solution for Quiz 1 and today’s homework are posted, as well as today’s class materials.

 

Thursday, September 01, 2005

It is not too late to take short survey. The homework problems for next week are posted.

 

 

Wednesday, August 31, 2005

Today’s class materials are posted. The checkpoint quiz for Friday is available.

 

Tuesday, August 30, 2005

All class problems for the section on physics fundamentals are published in “Documents”.

 

Monday, August 29, 2005

In “Documents”, you can find a practice sheet for unit conversions plus solutions. Today’s PPT has been posted. The first checkpoint quiz is posted.

 

Friday, August 19, 2005

If you happen to drop in on the class page, please take a moment to fill in the short survey (5 questions) at the beginning of the semester.

 

 

Tuesday, August 16, 2005

Welcome to class. This page is your immediate access to information about the latest changes to the web page, new postings and other class-related important information. Please check in regularly. The syllabus is posted.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Page last modified: 12/22/2005 11:25 AM

Maintained by Sylke Boyd, sboyd@umn.edu

University of Minnesota-Morris, Division of Science and Mathematics

The views and opinions expressed in this page are strictly those of the page author. The contents of this page have not been reviewed or approved by the University of Minnesota.